Council of Attorneys-General

​The Council of Attorneys-General (CAG) assists the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) by developing a national and Trans-Tasman focus on maintaining and promoting best practice in law reform.

The CAG consists of Attorneys-General from the Australian Government, all states and territories, and the New Zealand Minister for Justice.

The CAG's responsibilities cover the broad theme of law reform to improve justice outcomes in relation to civil justice reforms and responses, legal profession regulation and evidence law, national security legal frameworks, intergovernmental reforms and implementation of cross-jurisdictional oversight and integrity measures.

Contacting the Chair

The jurisdictional Chair will rotate annually. Correspondence to the CAG Chair can be sent to CAGSecretariat@ag.gov.au or:

CAG Chair
c/o CAG Secretariat
3-5 National Circuit


The Council of Attorneys-General will generally meet up to twice a year. Meeting communiqués are available below:

Former LCCSC and Ministerial council documents

In June 2017, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) decided to replace the Law, Crime and Community Safety Council (LCCSC) with separate councils for Attorneys-General and Ministers for Police and Emergency Management. The councils will hold regular joint meetings and cooperate on cross-cutting issues.

More information will be available on the new Ministerial Council as the implementation of the new council structure progresses.

Past documents and information are available on the Law, Crime and Community Safety Council page.