You are here: Skip breadcrumbAttorney-General's Department >> About us >> Committees and councils >> Law, Crime and Community Safety Council

 Law, Crime and Community Safety Council

The former Law, Crime and Community Safety Council (LCCSC) consisted of ministers with responsibilities for law and justice, police and emergency management. As a result of a Council of Australian Governments (COAG) review conducted in 2016-17, COAG decided to replace the LCCSC with separate councils for Attorneys-General, and Ministers for Police and Emergency Management. The councils will hold regular joint meetings and cooperate on cross-cutting issues.

The Council of Attorneys-General (CAG) assists COAG by developing a national and Trans-Tasman focus on maintaining and promoting best practice in law reform.

The Australian Government Home Affairs portfolio coordinates a broad range of domestic security functions that closely relate to the role of the new Ministerial Council for Police and Emergency Management.


Communiques from previous LCCSC meetings are available below:

Former Ministerial council documents

Under changes to the COAG council system in December 2013, the LCCSC replaced two previously separate councils: the Standing Council on Law and Justice (SCLJ) (formerly the Standing Committee of Attorneys-General (SCAG)) and the Standing Council on Police and Emergency Management (SCPEM).

To access past documents and information, visit the SCLJ archive on the Australian Government Web Archive website or the SCPEM archive.