You are here: Skip breadcrumbAttorney-General's Department >> Publications >> Annual reports >> Annual report 2012-13 >> Appendix 4: Staff achievements

 Appendix 4: Staff achievements

next page 

These awards are a significant occasion in the department's calendar as they provide an opportunity to acknowledge publicly the remarkable achievements of our staff. These annual awards recognise individuals or teams who have demonstrated excellence in achieving outcomes above and beyond general expectations.

Annual departmental awards

The 2012 Departmental Awards Ceremony was held in August 2012 to recognise the achievements of staff.

Secretary's award 2012

Awarded to Chris Jeacle for her significant contribution to the development and implementation of Personal Property Securities (PPS) reform and the PPS Register.

Deputy Secretaries' awards 2012

Civil Justice and Legal Services Group: Awarded to Cathy Rainsford for her outstanding contribution to the Family Law Branch.

Strategic Policy and Coordination Group: Awarded to Antonietta Middleton for excellent support and advice to managers and staff in case management.

National Security and Criminal Justice Group: Awarded to Yolonde Werner for outstanding contribution to the goals and reputation of the department through her work on natural disaster recovery program operations.

Academic achievement award 2012

Awarded to Sara Samios for completion of a Masters of Law in International Law.

Australia Day Achievement Awards 2012 — Recognising exceptional staff

On 24 January the department celebrated Australia Day by acknowledging staff who have made exceptional contributions to the work of the department through the 2013 Australia Day Achievement Awards ceremony.

Claire McAlister — for high levels of professionalism, dedication and customer focus in providing key support to enable the Australian Government to successfully implement its open, transparent and more diverse appointments process across a number of judicial appointments in 2012, including the appointment of two High Court justices.

The Native Title Institutional Reform team — Tiffany Karlsson, Stephen Still, Leith Watson, Alan Wu and David Taft — for excellent stakeholder and program management, and achieving excellent results for the department and native title system, in implementing the Australian Government's 2012 institutional reforms.

The Legal Services Reform Team — Emma White, Mark Long, Georgia Weichert and Rachel Allen — in recognition of significant contribution to reform of the Australian Government's legal services procurement framework.

Human Rights — Statements of Compatibility Team — Lucy Sargeson, Kate Orange, James Pender, Zoe Scanlon and Renuka Thilagaratnam — for high levels of professionalism and dedication in achieving the goal of greater accountability of the Australian Public Service and the Parliament to meet Australia's international human rights obligations.

Brian Ewert for implementation of the Work Health and Safety Act 2011 in the department and for assistance to portfolio agencies and other APS agencies in respect of this task.

The Brumby Anti-Dumping Taskforce — Rachel Antone, Christopher Perry, Rohan Verco, Geoff Gleeson (Australian Customs and Border Protection Service) — who worked tirelessly to support the review of anti-dumping matters commissioned by the Minister for Home Affairs and Justice.

The Ministerial Section — Jayston Spindler, Kurt Linder, Shelley West, Jane Vucago, Lee Mills, Mark Tozer, Rose Booth and Katrina Morrison — for demonstrated high levels of professionalism, commitment and dedication in achieving exceptional outcomes for the department in the implementation of a parliamentary workflow solution and associated business processes and improvements.

Paul Stoddart and Kris Garred for excellence in progressing the protection and resilience of Australia's submarine cable network.

Rebekah Kilpatrick for outstanding leadership in support of Australia's ongoing effort to combat people trafficking.

A Cross-divisional team — Laura Munsie, Ben Shaw, Annette Willing, Karl Alderson, Alex Madsen, Roxane Nolan and Jennifer Cavenagh — for outstanding commitment, professionalism and stakeholder management in dealing with security aspects of irregular maritime arrivals.

The Cybercrime Convention implementation Team — David Cramsie, Greg Sadler, Andrew Kiley, Branko Ananijevski and Catherine Smith — for demonstrated high levels of professionalism and commitment in the successful progression of Australia's Accession to the Council of Europe Convention on Cybercrime.

Simona Timmons and Camille Goodman were recognised in the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry's Australia Day Awards for work completed while on secondment in relation to a new fisheries Treaty, the 'Agreement on Strengthening Implementation of the Niue Treaty on Cooperation in Fisheries Surveillance and Law Enforcement in the South Pacific Region'.

next page