The Australian Government is in a caretaker period ahead of an election on 18 May 2019. During this period, information on this website will be published in accordance with the Guidance on Caretaker Conventions

 Role of states and territories


Cooperation between Australian governments

The Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse made recommendations to the Australian Government and to state and territory governments that benefit from national consistency and cooperation.

The Australian Government is working with states and territories to implement the National Redress Scheme, National Framework for Protecting Australia's Children 2009-2020, National Principles for Child Safe Organisations, and improved national consistency for Working with Children Checks.

The Child Abuse Royal Commission Interjurisdictional Working Group was established in March;2018.

Governments agreed to prioritise recommendations across four themes from the Final Report:

  • supporting child safe institutions through the National Principles for Child Safe Organisations which incorporate the child safestandards recommended by the Royal Commission
  • improving information sharing, record keepingand data collection
  • addressing the complex issue of children withharmful sexual behaviours
  • committing to annually and publicly reporting onprogress.

The Australian Government has also established a working group comprised of state and territory representatives with policy and operational responsibility for Working with Children Checks to consider recommendations in the Working with Children Checks report. The working group is currently progressing nationally consistent standards for Working with Children Checks schemes across all jurisdictions.

Australian governments will continue working together through the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Education Council; Community Services Ministers; and Council of Australian Archives and Records Authorities Working Group to achieve ongoing, effective change on recommendations relating to information sharing and online safety.

State and territory responses

All states and territories have committed to publically responding to the Royal Commission's Final Report in June 2018.

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia