Skip to main content

Attorney-General’s Department organisational structure

Publication date
Last updated

See the organisational structure of the Attorney-General's Department below.

Organisational structure

The structure of the Attorney-General’s Department is currently changing due to a Machinery of Government. An updated structure will be available soon.

Our Secretary Katherine Jones PSM is the head of our department. We are currently structured into 4 groups. Within each group there are divisions and each division is organised into branches.

The Australian Government Solicitor, Michael Kingston, leads the Australian Government Solicitor Group.

  • Office of the AGS COO
  • Office of General Counsel
  • Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial

The Deputy Secretary of the Legal Services and Families Group is Iain Anderson.

  • Families and Legal System
    • Legal System
    • Family Law
    • Family Safety
  • Legal Services Policy
    • Office of Constitutional Law
    • Office of Legal Services Coordination
    • Royal Commissions Commonwealth Representation
    • Legal Assistance
    • Native Title
    • Office of Corporate Counsel
  • Royal Commission into Violence, Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation of People with Disability
  • National Commissioner for Defence and Veteran Suicide Prevention
  • Royal Commission into Defence and Veteran Suicide

The Deputy Secretary of the Integrity and International Group is Sarah Chidgey.

  • Integrity and Security
    • Security Law and Policy
    • Human Rights
    • Fraud Prevention and anti-Corruption
    • Transparency and Criminal Law
    • Information Law
    • Security, Emergency & Administrative Law
  • International
    • Office of International Law
    • International Cooperation

Our Chief Operating Officer, Cameron Gifford, leads the Enabling Services Group.

  • Corporate Services
    • AGS Finance
    • Financial Services
    • Business Operations
  • Information Division
  • Strategy and Governance
  • Human Resources